One Question I DON’T Get Asked A Lot – And How the Answer Can Help Rejuvenate Your Health and Fitness!How much protein do I need?”

A quick note before we begin: Will you please do me a favor and visit my site and comment or message me so that I know who is still interested in my posts? I know my email followers don’t need to visit my site to read the entire post. However, if you are one of my email followers, which most of you are, will you please click on the link in your email to my page, and either comment below the post or send a quick message to let me know that you are reading the posts? Thanks for your help! Back to protein!

photo by SEMSEMS

The question I DON’T get asked often is, “How much protein do I need?” Not many people realize how important protein is and how much protein your body needs to maintain your muscle mass. Why is that so important? As we go through life, starting around 40, our muscle mass starts to decline. You won’t notice this overnight. It gradually happens. Is there something you can do to slow this down, prevent, or even reverse this? YES!

Protein is essential in building and maintaining muscles. You need to eat carbohydrates and fats too. It is not all “Protein, protein, protein!” However, most people do not know just how much is needed. The exact amount you need depends on how active or inactive you are. But, the commonly agreed upon amount to maintain your muscle mass is 1.5 g per kg of body weight. (1 kg = 2.2 lbs) For example, if you weigh 140 lbs (64 kg, rounded up), you need to eat 96 grams of protein each day. It’s not easy to do. And you need more if you are trying to build muscle. You need to read the food labels and do the math.

photo by vika imperia 550

Remember that protein doesn’t always mean meat. There are vegetarian options and protein shakes, too. Eat lean proteins, vegetables, and legumes for a nutritious diet. If you opt for vegetarian proteins, you will have to eat more. For example, 1 cup of black beans has 15.2 grams of protein. A 4 oz. piece of grilled chicken breast, a little bigger than the palm of your hand, has 35 grams of protein. It’s very important to read those labels. You may want to ask a nutritionist or dietitian to help determine what protein is best for you.

I hope this helps you keep that good muscle as you go through life. It will make a big difference in how healthy you look and feel. Please, ask any questions you have. And, also don’t forget to come to my website and leave a comment or message to let me know if you are still interested in my posts. Thank you! Karen


2 thoughts on “One Question I DON’T Get Asked A Lot – And How the Answer Can Help Rejuvenate Your Health and Fitness!How much protein do I need?”

Leave a comment